I'm working on a web and mobile app that would fit nicely with the type of sites they're typically on, and those networks are the only kind of ads I don't really mind. Does anyone have a ballpark on what you make serving those ads on your site/app?
It really depends on what you're doing.<p>The disadvantage with platforms like decktrade is you have a different set of rules from traditional CPC networks like AdMob. As it is a direct exchange, you're typically dealing with fill rates that can vary wildly and a CPC/eCPM that fluctuates.<p>That isn't to say you shouldn't use them - I actually prefer to use our own internal ads instead of AdMob and others, with DeckTrade being higher on our own priority list. Use AdWhirl or another mediator to set up your serving list and then your own house ads to make sure you have a max fill rate.<p>Now, as for ballpark figures I have to say it rather depends. Do you know what your average CTR is on ads you're testing in your apps/sites? If you need, set your estimate at about .08% to 1% CTR; conversely, average earned CPC depends on platform. I'd give it anywhere from $0.03 to $0.05. With that you'de be averaging somewhere from $0.24 to $0.5 eCPM.<p>As an example of what we get, for our ads on AdMob we have a $0.43 eCPM form our highest impression sites which have a CTR of 0.71%. DeckTrade skews a bit higher at $0.74 and 0.94% respectively. Internal ads we run way outperform all of them however, but our fill rate for those is much less.<p>Before you begin estimating however, you need to look at your apps/sites and see how related any ads may be. Remember to categorize well and look into how you can maximize the relevance of ads to your own apps. If you have a game, you know people are often playing for a reason - figure out what works and you'll earn more from that.<p>Ping me @kzorz or something if you want to talk further. We're doing a lot with mobile ads and I'd be happy help anyone out here on YCHN.<p><plug class="shameless">We also have an alpha of our internal ad network that we are looking for testers for</plug>
Here's the thing: The kinds of ads you don't mind are the same kinds of ads that perform the worst for advertisers. The CPMs will probably reflect this.
You can approximate using this page: <a href="http://decknetwork.net/" rel="nofollow">http://decknetwork.net/</a><p>28 advertisers * $8300 = $232,400. That figure divided by 100,873,827 impressions is $.002 / impression or $2.30 per thousand impressions. Assume The Deck pays out 70% and you're looking at $1.60 CPM.